Bay Area – off the beaten track

The Bay Area has without any doubts a lot of absolutely beautiful and stunning sights. San Francisco for example has the Fisherman’s Wharf, the Golden Gate Bridge, Union Square, Pier 49 or whichever it is, Coit Tower, Alcatraz. It is probably quite arrogant to get a “been there, done that” attitude about a city like San Francisco. But I just did not feel like seeing those places again so I was more than happy to talk to my hosts in San Francisco about some other places in the city and around it. I figured I could share some photos and experience about these places. Mind you, the Golden Gate Bridge just kept drawing me towards it. While not a natural thing, it is really beautiful.

On my first Saturday off in San Francisco I went to Pinnacles National Park.

This is the newest National Park in the USA, up until 2012 this was a National Monument. While it might not look at as spectacular as Yosemite or Yellowstone (or my secret favorite, Bryce Canyon) it is nevertheless beautiful and has a lot of interesting sites. There are caves with bats (I didn’t see any bats, though) that you can crawl through, there is that strange mixture of Mediterranean and high desert flora, there are beautiful rock formations and the very rare Condor. I came on Friday, checked out the place and drove a little further south to find a spot to camp in the car. Early next morning I drove back into the park, secured a camp site and went hiking. Something that’s very satisfying: within two days you can hike all the major trails in this park. The trails in the center of this park are in my opinion the more exciting ones. High elevation, steep steps cut deep into the rock, a lot of vertigo. The campground is pretty nice and even though it was early in the year, it was quite packed. The night ranger talk about the geolgy of that place is highly interesting. It was held right after sunset in the outside amphitheater under the stars and trees. Part of Pinnacle’s geological formation is more than a hundred miles South and Pinnacles National Park moved North through the eons along the San Andreas fault. You could say that “the rest of Pinnacles” just stayed further South. I really enjoyed the relative loneliness of Pinnacle National Monument. If you look on a map, you might think that it is not too far away from San Francisco. But you’d be surprised how far out in the wild it feels. My car couldn’t even get any radio in. I hiked here all Saturday and half of Sunday until I drove up to Salinas, to pay the John Steinbeck Center a visit.

Maybe some of you know that John Steinbeck is my favorite writer (of the US ones). It was basically a no-brainer to check out his home-town and the museum about him. When I came to the states I started reading “East of Eden”. The opening of that book is just epic:

“The Salinas Valley is in Northern California. It is a long narrow swale between two ranges of mountains, and the Salinas River winds and twists up the center until it falls at last into Monterey Bay.

I remember my childhood names for grasses and secret flowers. I remember where a toad may live and what time the birds awaken in the summer—and what trees and seasons smelled like—how people looked and walked and smelled even. The memory of odors is very rich.”

John Steinbeck – East of Eden

I was not even aware that I spent my first night in the Salinas Valley. I was next to King City which is mentioned quite often in the book. However, since I was low on gas, I decided to not drive through the Valley but rather to Salinas directly (I did have a pretty good view of the Valley from Pinnacles and honestly, it was not that spectacular as it is one huge agriculturally used valley). Salinas itself is also not a very spectacular town, either. But the exhibit about his work and life is quite interesting. I wish it had a little more information about Steinbeck’s private life but after all, it was his private life and is thus probably none of my business anyway. At the end of the day I drove up Highway 101 back towards San Francisco. I was so close to Apple’s, Google’s, Intel’s, Opera’s and so many more companies’ headquarters that the area outside of the Silicon Valley feels quite backwards and old-fashioned to me now. This weekend was quiet, exhausting and refreshing and educating. I liked it a lot and it felt good to be in Steinbeck Country.

One week later I went to see Lands end and the Presidio, two sites located in San Francisco. Starting at the ruins of Sutro Baths where there is a very interesting cave, I hiked from Lands end along the coast, enjoying the sights of the Golden Gate Bridge and the North Side of the Bay. I ended the day with a hike along Baker Beach and the gay-nude beach right next to the Golden Gate Bridge. I walked underneath the bridge, watching big waves crush against its pillars. Through a hole in the fence you can walk into San Francisco and watch the surfers taking advantage of the huge waves passing the bridge. After climbing the rocks and cliffs of the Pacific Coast, the view of San Francisco felt inviting.

The next day I set out to visit Bobbi, an old friend of mine for who I still have deep feelings of gratitude and affection. She is a great woman and makes one fantastic chicken salad. 🙂 She lives in Fairfax which is a beautiful town in its own right. It is built in a small valley and up the hills and mountains that cover the area North of the Bay. It is remarkable how close to a gigantic urban center such a wild and impenetrable area can be. No big roads, just chaparral and trees.  In the early afternoon I went on to Muir Woods National Monument, which I have never visited before. It contains a big amount of Redwood trees, giants even taller than the Mammoth Trees everybody in Europe likes so much. While the admission to this place is fairly high (7 Dollars) it is absolutely beautiful, serene and quiet. It is good for the soul. One thing I cannot understand though is that people come out into the middle of tranquility just to talk and chatter loudly rather than just enjoy the beauty that lies in the stillness of this place. But those people are usually too fat to walk the upper trails so I stayed to them and all was fine. One thing to consider: the free map you can get at the entrance is hardly exact and parking is almost impossible to find on a Sunday afternoon.

If you have any questions about these places, let me know. The photos apparently are in reverse order.

IMG_20140316_174135

Just a pretty flower.

IMG_20140316_165324_hdr

Redwood giants in Muir Woods.

IMG_20140316_164232

Muir Woods.

IMG_20140315_185519

Golden Gate Bridge. Covered by fog.

IMG_20140315_183059_hdr

All of a sudden, the famous fog crawled in from the Ocean.

IMG_20140315_180803

Golden Gate Bridge. It attracted me like a light attracts a moth.

IMG_20140315_180004_hdr

Golden Gate Bridge.

IMG_20140315_175655_hdr

Back towards San Francisco.

IMG_20140315_175241_hdr

You might be able to see people up there.

IMG_20140315_174600

The bridge from below.

IMG_20140315_174338

Just imagine the sheer size of that bridge and how loud this place is with the waves crushing in.

IMG_20140315_173412

My feet in the Pacific.

IMG_20140315_172202

Another view of the Bridge.

IMG_20140315_170510

Marshall’s beach (gay/nude beach). Golden Gate Bridge in the Background.

IMG_20140315_161940

Bunkers and the Golden Gate Bridge, packed with cars.

IMG_20140315_120901

The Golden Gate Bridge and me.

IMG_20140315_113404

Shady area near the trailhead at Lands End.

IMG_20140315_112642

Lands End.

IMG_20140315_112632_hdr

Lands End.

IMG_20140315_110025

Cave entrance and the mighty Pacific.

IMG_20140315_104106_hdr

At the end of a small caves. The waves were pretty intense that day, there even was a warning on the Weather Service website.

IMG_20140315_103639

Sutro Baths ruins. Restaurant in the background.

IMG_20140315_103157

Lands End. Sutro Baths to the right, restaurant and visitor center to the left.

IMG_20140315_095746

Ocean beach, near Lands End. This is San Francisco.

IMG_20140309_172340_hdr

The Steinbeck house!

IMG_20140309_165955

… and the inside.

IMG_20140309_170011_hdr

Rocinante from the outside….

IMG_20140309_161643

He really was… 🙂

IMG_20140309_152748_hdr

These are some of Steinbeck’s original books.

IMG_20140309_143643_hdr

The National Steinbeck Center in Salinas, Ca.

IMG_20140309_092006

Morning view on my last day in Pinnacles.

IMG_20140308_171311

The creek right behind my real camp site in Pinnacles National Park.

IMG_20140308_133442

On this side, Pinnacles almost looks like Portugal or Italy (which is not too surprising, I guess). The wind definitely shaped those trees!

IMG_20140308_131254_hdr

Towards the East, Pinnacles looks a lot more Mediterranean.

IMG_20140308_120501

Wind in my hair and sun in my eyes. It’s a good life. In the back you can see the Gabilan Mountains.

IMG_20140308_114725

Hiking higher and higher up towards the peaks of Pinnacles National Park.

IMG_20140308_110515

A lizard.

IMG_20140308_100732_hdr

Bear Gulch Reservoir.

IMG_20140308_095652_hdr

Steps towards Bear Gulch Reservoir in Pinnacles.

IMG_20140307_173605_hdr

“I remember that the Gabilan Mountains to the east of the valley were light gay mountains full of sun and loveliness and a kind of invitation, so that you wanted to climb into their warm foothills almost as you want to climb into the lap of a beloved mother.” – John Steinbeck

IMG_20140307_175256_hdr

View towards the Salinas Valley from my “campsite” on the first night. Yes campsite = road side.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

