I’d like to thank the Academy

Working in San Francisco at the Academy of Sciences is quite different from working in Reno. Reno was great. I like the “World’s biggest little city”. I would never compare it to San Francisco. That would be unfair. The UNR campus was very pretty, neat and old. But the place where I work now is just… Special. Let me explain why. I don’t know if you remember the view from my workplace in Reno. You can see it here:

Workplace in Reno

Workplace in Reno

Well, this is how my new workplace looks like:

Workplace in San Francisco

Workplace in San Francisco

When I look to my right, this is what I see:

Cabinets in the CalAcademy

Cabinets in the CalAcademy

This is where a part of the plant collection is stored. This room is cooled down enough that I still feel very cold despite my wearing a heavy winter coat. Now you probably think this is a pretty terrible step down from Reno.

Well, what can I say, my early morning commute makes up for that a little bit. I walk up the street towards Golden Gate Park, where the California Academy of Sciences is located. I turn right at the rose garden. This is what it looks like.

Rose garden

Rose garden

I cross over the street next to the de Young museum:

Backside of de Young Museum

Backside of de Young museum

And walk around it.

Left side of de Young museum

Left side of de Young museum

Right side of de Young Museum

Right side of de Young Museum

I reach the Music Concourse and the Spreckels Temple of Music.

Music Concourse

Music Concourse, Academy of Sciences in Background

Spreckels Temple of Music

Spreckels Temple of Music

If I don’t get distracted by the Japanese Tea Garden,

Japanese Tea Garden

Japanese Tea Garden

I stand right in front of the Academy.

Visitor entrance CalAcademy

Visitor entrance CalAcademy

I was told to not walk through there, so I walk around past these stone cats.

Stone cats

Stone cats

I finally reach the staff entrance of the Academy:

Staff entrance CalAcademy

Staff entrance CalAcademy

What I usually do then is get my work place setup, my lunch into the refrigerator and a cup of coffee. If you work there, you get as much free coffee (100% arabica, the sort is called “Venezia”) as you want so I drink lots and spice it up with chocolate, cinnamon, megnut, sugar and/or cream. When I walk over to the cafeteria from the herbariumI can see some of the sights of the CalAcademy Museum. Like “the swamp” with the ultra-extremely-rare albino American Alligator.

Albino alligator

Albino alligator

Or the Osher rainforest building within the building with its 4 floors.

Osher Rainforest

Osher Rainforest

Inside of the rainforest

Inside of the Rainforest

Or the giant skeleton of a blue whale, right above the earth quake simulation room.

Blue whale skeleton

Blue whale skeleton

Or the Megalodon-decorated entrance to the Steinhart Aquarium with its uncountable giant fish tanks.

Steinhart Aquarium

Steinhart Aquarium

On my way back to the herbarium I sometimes stop by the main entrance, where visitors are greeted by this Tyrannosaur-skeleton.

T-Rex

T-Rex

More of the T-Rex

More of the T-Rex

For lunch I walk by this guy here.

Darwin

Darwin

Most of the day I work sitting in that cold room I showed you in the second photo. But nevertheless. This academy defies description.

Life is good to me. 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

